The Wealthy Affiliate University Review – My Own Experiences

The Wealthy Affiliate University Review – My Own Experiences

*This post may have affiliate links, which means I may receive commissions if you choose to purchase through links I provide (at no extra cost to you). Thank you for supporting the work we put into this site!

I want to share with you my own experience with Wealthy Affiliate whilst sharing with you all of the features of Wealthy Affiliate.  I joined their program 2 years ago whilst exploring ways to earn money online and honestly haven’t looked back.

I had tried and failed to earn money a few times prior to joining Wealthy Affiliate and one of the first things I liked was the honesty the owners had with an online business. I had been playing at earning money online, what I needed was some expert guidance.  I have now been employing their techniques for a couple of years, I have had websites that have failed, and some that are actually turning in a profit.

So, this review is my personal take on Wealthy Affiliate and why I would recommend it to those who aspire to their own online business from affiliate marketing.

Wealthy Affiliate Overview

Product Name: Wealthy Affiliate

Owners: Kyle & Carson

Product Type: Affiliate Marketing Training Platform + SO Much More

Price: Starter Membership $0, Premium Membership $47/month or $359/year

Best For: New & Struggling Affiliate Marketers

Summary: Wealthy Affiliate is a pay-it-forward platform where help and support is the key ingredient to its success. With close to 1.8 million users, it is a thriving community of internet entrepreneurs all helping each other to building an online business with affiliate marketing.

Their training is designed so that anyone can get started with an affiliate marketing and is ideal for beginners regardless of their knowledge in anything to do with an online business and is constantly updated to keep up with an ever-changing landscape.

Access to a personal mentor and the owners of the product (Kyle & Carson) are a welcome sign to a product that works and is our No.1 Recommended Product.

The tools on offer are second to none and put Wealthy Affiliate above the competition in many ways with a reasonable, monthly charge. But they also understand people want to know something before they buy it and their Starter Membership is ideal.  The starter membership is not a trial membership and is a full account.  You don’t even need to enter any credit card details

Rating: 98/100

Recommended? Definitely

What Exactly is Wealthy Affiliate?

Wealthy Affiliate is a comprehensive platform for anyone who wants to get started in affiliate marketing.  It offers training, tools and support that when all put together gives anyone and everyone the opportunity to build a profitable online business.  Considering where it all began and where Wealthy Affiliate is today it is a huge compliment to the owner Kyle and Carson that now over 1.8 million people are benefiting from their training and their expertise.

Wealthy Affiliate began in 2005 and it was nowhere near what it is today.  Kyle & Carson were at this point offering a membership platform that gave people access to profitable keywords.  They specialised in keyword research and people paid $49 a month to receive reliable keyword information to use on their affiliate marketing businesses.

Today, Wealthy Affiliate offers pretty much anything and everything an affiliate marketer could want or need to be successful online.  With an integrated keyword research tool, website builder and website hosting, comprehensive training, website tools in which we will detail in this review it shows how much Kyle & Carson want to help people.

This is shown where they have not changed the price even though there is all of these additions since 2005.

Whilst the premise of Affiliate Marketing is simple, the amount of competition out there makes a tool like Wealthy Affiliate come into its own.  With comprehensive Training, Personal Mentoring, Website & WordPress Tools, Keyword Research & Website Analysis/Performance tools, A unique writing platform and engagement from Kyle & Carson – I have not found many products that can get even close to Wealthy Affiliate with what they offer.

kyle-carson-wa-owners

Kyle & Carson – Co-Owners of Wealthy Affiliate

Who Would Benefit from Wealthy Affiliate?

Many would suggest Wealthy Affiliate is only aimed at People wanting to get started in affiliate marketing

Their starter membership is indeed a great option for newbies wanting to try it out before investing in to it.

But standing still online is never a good sign and I have known people who think they know affiliate marketing and then they check out Wealthy Affiliate and they realise they haven’t been keeping up-to-date with the latest movements in affiliate marketing and are way behind the curve.

But for the purpose of this review and whether you are considering signing up with Wealthy Affiliate to learn Affiliate Marketing, it is definitely the right choice for:

  • People who are new to Affiliate Marketing
  • People who are struggling in Affiliate Marketing
  • Existing Affiliate Marketers
  • Affiliate Program Owners

But it does go deeper than that, their training will not only benefit the guys above but will also benefit anyone who has a business whether they own a website yet or not.  You will learn all about SEO, Online Marketing, Local Marketing, Website Building & Design, Traffic Generation, Social Media Marketing, Keyword Research and you can use these skills to grow your reach.  SO we can include the following groups to those who would benefit from Wealthy Affiliate:

  • Small Business Owners
  • Bloggers/Vloggers
  • Website Owners

Literally, anyone who is thinking of getting started online will need to know how to generate traffic would benefit from Wealthy Affiliate.

However, there is a key component in everything that is Wealthy Affiliate – You will only get out what you put in.  The training is excellent, the tools will benefit you immensely but this is not a get-rich-quick scheme. Kyle and Carson are extremely honest about the fact that the only way you will make money is by putting in the time and effort required.

Following the training to the letter and taking action will lead to earning money.  But if you think this will earn you money straightaway, that is not the case.  You will also need to consider that you need to work hard.

There is no magic button online that will earn you money, but when you start going through the success stories that are as a result of Wealthy Affiliate you can see that it does work.  But you are the important part to earning money.

How Does Wealthy Affiliate Work

When you first sign up to Wealthy Affiliate, they take you through a system tour which is a great way of knowing your way around the WA dashboard.

It can seem a little overwhelming when you first log on, but the system tour is a great way of ensuring you know where to go to get help, how to get started with your training.

But know that if you decide to join Wealthy Affiliate after reading my review, you will get my personal help from the moment you log onto Wealthy Affiliate.  You will also be backed up with a huge number of members all there to help you too.

Below is a short video which will take you through the Wealthy Affiliate Dashboard, so you know where to find everything that is available on Wealthy Affiliate:

Here is an image of what the dashboard looks like for me:

Wealthy Affiliate Dashboard

Wealthy Affiliate is constantly being upgraded, but you can always access the system tour anytime by clicking on your profile picture and clicking system tour.

Primarily for a new member, the best starting point is the training.  The Online Certification Course will take you through how to get the best out of Wealthy Affiliate and then get you started with your own free website and working towards earning money.  We will get into the training shortly that is on offer.

Clicking on the Training option of the left hand menu will lead you to where all of the training is available:

online-certification-course-wealthy-affiliate

You have access to:

  • Online Certification Course – Ideal for getting started with Affiliate Marketing
  • Affiliate Bootcamp – Training Designed for Promoting Wealthy Affiliate
  • My Training Activity – If you start a training module, you can continue it from here
  • Training HQ – Access to other training
  • Classrooms – There are 13 classrooms within WA
Within each training, there will be:
  • Written Instructions
  • Video Tutorials
  • Tasks to Complete
  • Question & Answer Features

Wealthy Affiliate Training - Ideal for Beginners!

When it comes to the training available at Wealthy Affiliate, there is a lot to go through.  But know that whilst the training is highly detailed and constantly updated, it is written in a way that even someone who is just about able to get around a laptop will have their own business up and running by the end of the tenth lesson.

Wealthy Affiliate Online Certification Course

There are 5 levels to the Online Certification Course with 10 lessons included within each level.  50 lessons that will take you through every step that will be needed to have your own niche website up and running and ready to make money.  The key to any online business is not having a website, but it is getting it ranked within the search engines and traffic generation.

That is why the training is so detailed.  It will highlight how to target the right audience for your content.

Course Benefits & Outcome – WA Online Certification Course

  • Learning how to immerse yourself into the Wealthy Affiliate community
  • Discover the process of earning money online
  • Create & Start working towards a list of financial and non-financial goals
  • Gain Instant Access to over 590,000 niches
  • Choose Your Niche for Starting Out
  • Build Your Very Own Free Website
  • Optimise your website via WordPress
  • Learn about a simple and free way of making your website search engine friendly
  • Creating High-Quality Content
  • Understand the Keyword Research process
  • Learn how to quickly create your own low competition keyword lists. 

WA Affiliate Bootcamp – Training for the Affiliate Marketing Niche

The Affiliate Bootcamp is a 7 phase (70 lessons) step-by-step guide through the process of creating and establishing a business in a niche related to the promotion of Wealthy Affiliate.  Wealthy Affiliate has a great affiliate program (makes sense as they are all about affiliate marketing).  This is a great option for those who have gone through the online certification course and are ready for a bigger challenge.

affiliate-bootcamp-wealthy-affiliate

I personally feel this is a little more advanced and is more for people who have gone through the Online Certification Course and is ready to expand in the Make Money Online niche.

Live Weekly Classes

Wealthy Affiliate offers a live class every week on any given subject. Jay (Magistudios) has been a member of Wealthy Affiliate for 15 years and offers his insights as an expert in Affiliate Marketing with a live class including a Q & A at the end for anyone to ask him any questions.  

Being from the UK, this can be hard due to the time difference, but luckily the classes are available as a replay after 24 hours from the live class. 

Literally all subjects come up in the agenda and Jay is very good at pitching it so that anyone can understand it.  

Some of the more successful members of Wealthy Affiliate are often in the live chat during the session to answer questions too.

Community Built Training

It isn’t only Kyle, Carson and Jay who provide training.  After being a premium member for 3 months you can start creating your own training.

The Courses online are great but are designed to build a business from scratch and more importantly to keep it simple.  Wealthy Affiliate members are also able to build their own training based on their experiences and share it with the community. 

Marion (one of the ambassadors) has uploaded a catalogue of training videos all to do with WordPress websites.  If you needed to know how to do something particular with your website, niche research, etc. you just use the live search for a topic and checkout the training available.

In a nutshell, Wealthy Affiliate has training for any subject you could think of to do with getting a business started online:

  • Affiliate Marketing – affiliate programs, affiliate networks, etc.
  • Website Design – WordPress
  • Creating Content – Written, Videos, Images
  • SEO Marketing– getting your website seen by the search engines
  • PPC Marketing – Paid Advertising
  • Social Media Marketing – getting the best out of social media
  • Getting Traffic
  • Choosing a Niche
  • And much more

What Sets Wealthy Affiliate Apart? The Great Points

Let’s look at what is great about Wealthy Affiliate:

The Wealthy Affiliate Platform is all about making sure you have access to everything you need to be able to build your own online business.  Ease of use is a fundamental part of the make up of WA.  Here is a list of the key benefits of Wealthy Affiliate:

  • Easy to Use Interface
  • Training is written specifically for everyone to understand and is step-by-step
  • Weekly Live Training
  • The Community is helpful and supportive
  • They are honesty about the time and effort required
  • The owners are involved on a daily basis in the community
  • Constant updates – they keep the training up-to-date
  • Provides all of the tools needed for an online business
    • Website Builder
    • Website Hosting
    • Website Performance Tools
    • A unique Writing Platform – SiteContent
    • Free SSL certificates (Premium Members) for 25 Full Domains
    • Website Engagement Tools – Comments & Feedback
    • Jaaxy Keyword Research Tool Included (Premium Members)
    • New Affiliate Program Platform (May 2019)
  • Excellent Support
  • High Paying Affiliate Program – including starter members

What Could Wealthy Affiliate Improve?

I have been a member of Wealthy Affiliate for over 2 years and my experience with Wealthy Affiliate has been excellent.  I cannot honestly state there is anything that would stop me recommending Wealthy Affiliate and it is the fact that they are constantly looking to improve what is a fantastic platform.

The only thing I would mention at this point is it is normally our expectations that led to a concern.  People expect to make money earlier in their business then is even possible and so the monthly cost could pile up if you are not expecting it.

So if you are looking for a get-rich-quick scheme or cannot commit to giving it the time and effort to build an online business that will make you money, then Wealthy Affiliate is not for you…

How Much Does Wealthy Affiliate Cost

You might be expecting Wealthy Affiliate to charge a premium charge for what is a premium platform, but that is where you would be wrong.  Wealthy Affiliate started out as just a keyword list tool.  Kyle and Carson offered a service where you paid $49/month and you would receive ideal keywords to use in your given niche.  

That was in 2005 and the basic charge of the platform has not changed, but they have added so many different features to it and are constantly looking at ways of making is simpler and easier to use for anyone – whether you are new or experience, you can benefit from Wealthy Affiliate.

This shows again in their membership, they offer 2 and there is no pressure to go from the starter membership to the premium membership.

Starter Membership – Free (no credit card or time limit)

Kyle and Carson stay true to their ethics with this membership, they do not want anyone to have to pay to see what Wealthy Affiliate is like.  I must stress, this is not a free trial, this is a membership that includes 20 lessons, 2 free websites and support from your personal coach.  

Some state this is a trial as you can upgrade to the premium for only $19 for the first month within 7 days.  But you do not have to do this.  You can stay a free member and utilise the 2 free websites, or you can choose to upgrade whenever you feel it is the right decision for you or not upgrade at all.

During those 7 days, you will find that some of the premium features are available, so you are actually getting a trial of what the premium membership offers.

Premium Membership – $49/month, $234/6 month, $359/annual

After a review with members, they have made a couple of changes recently (Jan 2019).  For example, a starter member would have to upgrade to monthly before being able to take advantage of an annual upgrade.  Annual upgrade is the most cost-effective way, but you couldn’t go straight to that option, but now you can.

You can also choose a 6-monthly subscription as well.

The way you can pay has also been changed, before you could pay by either PayPal or credit card.  Now you can use your WA cash credits.

WA Cash Credits are earned through the Site Comments platform, referring new members and creating training for other members to benefit from.  So, if you are earning enough WA Cash Credits you could pay for your annual subscription easily through this, rather than using your own money.

Anyone truly thinking about building a profitable online business would really benefit from the premium membership due to all the tools, training and expert help and support offered.  Any online business needs to give themselves a year to reach their goals.

Let me show you the two Wealthy Affiliate options:

What Tools Does Wealthy Affiliate Offer?

Whilst Wealthy Affiliate started out as a keyword list subscription service, they have consistently added additional tools and features to give any prospective business owner the tools they need, and they are all accessible from your Wealthy Affiliate platform.

WordPress Website Builder

In four steps you could have your own website up and running in under a minute.

Starter Members get 2 free subdomain websites.

Premium Members get 25 full domain websites and 25 free subdomain websites and access to over 3,000 WordPress Themes to get the look and feel you want for a website.

Website Hosting

Wealthy Affiliate have developed their own hosting called SiteRubix and all of your sites will be hosted on that system with all of the benefits it comes with including free SSL certificates for the full domain websites.

SSL Certificates (Secure Sockets Layer) has become a major factor for the search engines and it can actually help with your website rankings and the trust of your readers and they include it in their premium membership.  

I have seen the price of this to be $100 per website per year, and it is included for $49/month for 25 websites.

They also run live backups of your website to reduce the risk of your website being down.

They also include SiteSpeed & Site Protect to each domain, see the image above to see what is included for your website.

Website Performance Tools

Page Speed Insights is a feature that shows you any pages that are slowing down your website.  How many times have you clicked on a link and it has taken an age to load so you have not bothered??  If someone doesn’t read your post, how can they read anything on it?

SiteContent – Writing Platform with Access to a Million Images

I have to be honest, before the guys updated this to the latest version, I didn’t really use it. It was much easier to write it in Word and copy and paste it onto your WordPress site.

But the latest version makes it much easier to manage your blog, include links and even adding images.  Once you are happy with the look, you can even publish it to your website without even leaving the SiteContent page.

The Image library is a huge selling point for Wealthy Affiliate, as they give you access to 1 million stock photos included in the premium membership.  

This has benefit on a number of different points.  One is the fact that you are much more likely to find a highly relevant image for your website and the other is that the image will be perfectly optimised for your website using the powerful Kraken Image Plugin.  We will get into that shortly…

You can also set yourself targets for writing, this can be great if you are not that organised with your time – it can give focus.

Kraken Image Optimiser

You not be aware of how important it is to have perfectly optimised images on a website, but let me tell you it is extremely important.

Large or unoptimised images are going to slow your website down, if your website is slow your readers will probably leave your website.  Not traffic, means no revenue.

Wealthy Affiliate are in the process of migrating all users and their website over to their brand new servers and they come complete with a premium version of Kraken Image Optimiser included.

Anyone who creates a new website, including you if you decide to join Wealthy Affiliate will have their website built on the new server and include the Kraken Image Optimiser plugin.  No extra charge at all.

Read more about this fantastic plugin with a blog that Carson (co-owner of WA) wrote about the excellent features that Kraken gives your website.  Read it HERE.

Website Engagement Platform – Comments & Feedback

One of the key things you will learn when starting a blog or any online business – the more people interact with your website, the more likely you are to achieve your goals (with affiliate marketing, it is for them to buy something).  But when you have a new website, it can be very hard to get people’s opinions on your site or even comments on your post.  These are integral to building a trust between the reader and yourself.  Wealthy Affiliate has this covered, with SiteComments & Site Feedback.  By giving people comments or feedback on their requested post or website, you gain credits to use to get feedback and comments on your website.

Kyle calls it “Paying it Forward”, by helping someone else you get help back in the form of helpful comments or feedback from someone else on your website – they might pick up something you haven’t considered, i.e. a banner isn’t quite showing right, or a menu item isn’t working.  They will also give you insight into what your writing is like.  No one is perfect at the start, I definitely do not like some of my first articles.

Updated SiteComments Platform – What is New!

Any website owner needs to know how important the engagement side of a website is.  If you are getting regular comments on your post, it tells the search engines that the content is useful and engaging – this will lead to better rankings.

But as a website owner, I know how difficult it can be to get those comments when you are first starting out.

SiteComments is a feature for premium members that uses a Pay-it-forward system to get some high-quality comments on your posts.  You take the time to read someone else’s post and leave them a relevant comment.  IN exchange you get credits, which you can cash in for you to receive comments on your posts.  It has been a system that has really helped people getting started with Wealthy Affiliate to get comments in the early stages before the organic comments come.

But, WA has just brought an update to this system which has taken it up a notch.  You still gain credits for giving high-quality comments – but by completing 10 in any 24-hour period will push your requests to the top of the list, meaning you get them quicker.

But if you actually write 50 comments in a 30-day period (easy when you are doing a few a day for your own benefit) you can actually start earning money from any credits above the 50 mark.

Now you do need to give high-quality comments and not skip too many to qualify.  You need to have an 80% approval rate and less than 20% skipped.  But you can help this figure by making sure your interests are right and reading the article and writing a relevant comment.

This is just another example of ways that WA focus on helping people get started online, and also another way of earning money online.

Jaaxy – Integrated Keyword Research Tool

Keyword Research is an important part of any online business.  Being able to find keywords that are going to rank is going to really benefit you with your affiliate marketing business. 

Jaaxy is the keyword research tool that was developed by Kyle & Carson and goes back to the beginning of what Wealthy Affiliate offered.  This used to be totally separate to Wealthy Affiliate but is now fully integrated into a WA membership.

You can access Jaaxy from your WA Dashboard or work from the Jaaxy website.  Either way it makes keyword research really easy to do.

Here is my link to my full Jaaxy review

But in short, here are the features available to you with a WA membership and Jaaxy:

  • Keyword Research Tool
  • Site Rank Tracking
  • Search Analysis – Analyse Competition and Discover SEO Trends
  • Alphabet Soup – Great tool for exploring searches people do
  • Affiliate Programs – the basis for the latest WA Update (Read on for more info)
Jaaxy is a full featured premium keyword research tool, which is $49/month on its own – but is included for free with the Premium Wealthy Affiliate Membership.  This used to be separate and now comes together into one membership.

Finding Affiliate Programs Has Just Become Easy (May 2019)

Searching for Affiliate Programs isn’t the easiest task to complete or at least it used to be.  With this latest platform launch from the guys at Wealthy Affiliate they have made it easier than ever.

This feature is included within the Premium Membership and means that whatever your niche you can easily find decent affiliate programs, join them and also get some interesting details about the program too all from one place.

Consider how you would normally complete a search.  You would use Google or any search engine and type for your niche + affiliate program.

That would allow you to see relevant affiliate programs, but with no real information on whether it is any good.

With an easy to navigate dashboard you can get all of the information you require before choosing whether that affiliate program is worthwhile.

As a Wealthy Affiliate member, you can also see what other members have thought of the product and leave your own feedback.  As it has just launched, there will not be many reviews yet but either way the information you get access to phenomenal.

The Search Tool

You can use the detailed search tool to narrow down your search as much as you need to ensure you only get relevant programs shown to you.

You can search by:

  • Country Availability
  • Pay-out Options
  • Auto Approval (of Commissions)
  • Rating
  • Commission &
  • Network Fee

You can use the filter tab to specify your search:

You can type in the box your actual search term, be it the niche or products you are wanting to search for an affiliate program.  I have used wedding as an example. We have a wedding business, so this would show us relevant affiliate programs:

Or you can click on the All button and then you can search by category too:

WA Affiliate Program Categories

Following & Managing Your Affiliate Programs

So far, you could consider the information similar to that included with affiliate networks, but the next stage takes it considerably over the mark offered by any program or network.

You are going to be able to follow affiliate programs.  You can also organise them and you are going to be able to review and manage them all from your WA Dashboard.

Why would you want to follow them, it allows you to be kept informed with them.  If there are any changes to the program or any information that you may need to know will be shown.

You can also use the follow feature to store future ideas.

Ample Communication

Communication is such an important thing within business, and you are going to able to communicate in a centralised way with the WA Affiliate Program platform.

You will be able to share experiences, ask any questions.  You will also be able to offer reviews about the products and services that you have experience with.

You will be able to benefit from what others are saying about certain affiliate programs and you will also be able to offer your support with your thoughts too.

Direct with the Merchants

The merchants who are offering the affiliate programs will have direct access to this platform allowing you to have direct way of communicating with them.

Wealthy Affiliate is a known authority within Affiliate Marketing and having merchants combine with the platform it will be a great place for you to get started or grow your affiliate marketing business.

Wealthy Affiliate are working on a true way of having full transparency between affiliates and the merchants and this is a massive step in the right direction to having that.

Following & Managing Your Affiliate Programs

So far, you could consider the information similar to that included with affiliate networks, but the next stage takes it considerably over the mark offered by any program or network.

You are going to be able to follow affiliate programs.  You can also organise them and you are going to be able to review and manage them all from your WA Dashboard.

Why would you want to follow them, it allows you to be kept informed with them.  If there are any changes to the program or any information that you may need to know will be shown.

You can also use the follow feature to store future ideas.

Ample Communication

Communication is such an important thing within business, and you are going to able to communicate in a centralised way with the WA Affiliate Program platform.

You will be able to share experiences, ask any questions.  You will also be able to offer reviews about the products and services that you have experience with.

You will be able to benefit from what others are saying about certain affiliate programs and you will also be able to offer your support with your thoughts too.

Direct with the Merchants

The merchants who are offering the affiliate programs will have direct access to this platform allowing you to have direct way of communicating with them.

Wealthy Affiliate is a known authority within Affiliate Marketing and having merchants combine with the platform it will be a great place for you to get started or grow your affiliate marketing business.

Wealthy Affiliate are working on a true way of having full transparency between affiliates and the merchants and this is a massive step in the right direction to having that.

Wealthy Affiliate is Ready for the Mobile World!!

Google has recently announced that their primary search bot is the mobile version.  More and more people are using their smartphones or tablets to search the internet, so websites need to be mobile friendly.  Wealthy Affiliate has always made sure their websites (for us) are sorted, however their platform has not been fully mobile friendly before now.  With the launch of their mobile friendly website, it shows they are committed to helping people.

You may be reading this on a mobile device, and with Wealthy Affiliate now being mobile friendly it means you do not need to be tied to a computer like before.  A lot of the features can be done on your phone!

What Support Features do Wealthy Affiliate Have?

Getting Help & Support within Wealthy Affiliate is easy and will always mean you are in touch with someone who can help you out.  You also gain access to the owners too, which is not common.  I don’t mean an email address you can use, but real access meaning you can send them messages or even see them in the Live Chat most days.

Live Chat

The live chat facility gives you access to the community, those that are online at present.  Some other forums I have been on, they lack interaction whereas Wealthy Affiliate’s community is encouraged to get involved and there is always an experienced member online to help you answer a question.  But it does take a bit of getting used to, as sometimes there are people having conversations inside and you might lose the trail of your question.  But if you have a simple question and want it answered quickly, the Live Chat is a great feature.

Live Search Bar

Due to Wealthy Affiliate being around 15 years, it is very likely someone else has already asked a question based on what you want to know or a problem you are having.

live-search-bar-wealthy-affiliate

The Live Search Bar is for just those questions.  Just start typing your question and see content related to that questions:

  • A Questions with relevant answers
  • A blog someone wrote on that subject matter that helps you
  • Community training on that subject or experience

It is a great feature and I find myself using it regularly to do some research or see if anyone else has experienced something.

Ask a Question in the Community

AS part of your profile, you will be able to post articles to your wealthy affiliate blog, add training if you have some experience and want to share or ask a question.

This ask the question is an awesome way of finding out questions to your problem and the community will answer your questions – it might take longer than the live chat, but you can be much more detailed in your question to get the correct answer you are after.

It then also becomes available for anyone else who may have a similar question.

SiteSupport

Occasionally there will be an issue that requires technical support – Wealthy Affiliate’s team are on hand to support.  I recently had an issue with logging onto my website, so I logged it with Support – within 5 minutes they had responded with a private message saying try it now and I was back online.

Final Word on support – I have never experienced such a supportive network anywhere.  Members will support you, the team behind WA are awesome and always able to fix most problems within minutes.  You will find no better support!

Does Wealthy Affiliate Bring Success?

success-wealthy-affiliate

There are many different ways to measure success, but the fundamental thing to remember is that Wealthy Affiliate will provide you with all the training and tools required to success – But it will not earn you money on its own.  You need to follow the training and know that it will mean hard work.

There are definite examples of where members have benefited from Wealthy Affiliate.  Below are a couple of prime examples

This people started out with nothing and have built up their very own business to a point where they are earning enough to work from home and actually employ people to do the work for them – but I stress that they were in a similar position to where you might be:

  • I haven’t got much computer knowledge
  • I know nothing about the internet or a website
  • I don’t know anything about social media
  • I have a full-time job, how can I do it…

To be honest, before I signed up I knew nothing about website design, affiliate programs (I didn’t even know what affiliate marketing was…) I was looking for a way to work from home. I had a full-time job easily doing 60 hours a week, a seven year old who wanted my attention.

There are plenty of barriers that will be telling you that this won’t work for you… But there are only two reasons as to why you will definitely fail:

  1. You DON’T Get Started!
  2. You Give Up!

I will be straight with you, you will need to invest some time and effort into affiliate marketing to make it work for you, but the main reason why people fail is because they walk away before it could make them money.

Some people will try something for a couple of weeks and then go, this isn’t working.

But if you are ready to invest some time in learning from the best in the business and are READY to put into ACTION what Kyle & Carson are telling you, then you are definitely ready for a Wealthy Affiliate FREE Starter Account.

Look, I am not saying that this isn’t going to be hard work, but you will only get out what you put in.  If you want a full-time income online, then you are going to have to pump in the hours to do it.

I find that whenever I felt like it wasn’t going to work (we have all had those moments…) what I like to do is to read some inspiring posts within the Wealthy Affiliate platform.  Below are some of those posts from fellow Wealthy Affiliate members.  They are a good read if you want to see what other members of Wealthy Affiliate think of this awesome platform too.

This are some inspiring posts that kept me motivated during that initial 6 months of not earning any money.

How Much A Single Review Post Can Make? – Five Figure!

$12,500 – Website Sold on Flippa

Wealthy Affiliate is truly a Pay-It-Forward system in supporting each other. They also reward you generously when you introduce someone who can benefit from their Training via their Affiliate Program.

A Generous Affiliate Program - Best on the Market

Wealthy Affiliate offers a very generous affiliate program.  Anyone who has experienced Wealthy Affiliate has a positive view of this awesome platform and they will also benefit from being able to promote WA and get 50% commissions for a premium member.  But the affiliate program is not only restricted to premium members.  Starter Members can benefit too.

Before understanding the commissions, you need to understand the membership.

A Starter Member who signs up for a Premium Membership during the Special Offer (7 Days) will only pay $19 for the first month, it will then be $49/month or $359/yr.

So the commissions are as follows:

Starter Member

Introducing a member who goes premium during special offer – $4

Each Month they stay Premium – $11.75

If they go Annual – $87.50

Premium Member

Special Offer – $8

Each Month they stay Premium – $23.50

If they go Annual – $175

They have a high conversion rate, as you should only recommend Wealthy Affiliate to someone who is right for it and can invest the time and effort to build an online business.

This is where the Affiliate Bootcamp I mentioned in the training is aimed at getting someone to this level.  For those who get serious around promoting Wealthy Affiliate, they also give a secondary target.

Las Vegas Super Affiliate Conference

If you invite 300 premium members in a calendar year, you could be in one of those seats having an all-expenses paid trip to Las Vegas.  You will get to meeting the other Super Affiliates and learn from the best in the business on how to grow and scale your business to never need a normal day job again.

Here is an image of the guys that went last year:

If you are someone who wants to target the Make Money Online niche, then you need to be promoting the best products and we firmly believe Wealthy Affiliate is the best training platform and business tool online.

If you decide to give it a go, you will hopefully see what we see too.

My Honest Opinion of Wealthy Affiliate

I’ll be honest, Wealthy Affiliate is not for everyone!

You need to be serious about wanting to build the lifestyle you wish for by investing the time and effort on achieving it.  It will not be given to you.  Wealthy Affiliate provides you everything you need, but they cannot do the hard work for you.

Ask yourself, can you stay motivated and focused on a project that might mean you are not earning something from it for a while.

I often see false promises online about “a system that earns you money on autopilot!”

Let us be honest, any program that tells you that is an outright scam and the truth is you will lose your money, your time and your patience and start thinking anything and everything is a scam…

Wealthy Affiliate is the best legit platform we have seen for people to make money online!

If you truly want to succeed at affiliate marketing, Wealthy Affiliate will give you everything you need to succeed at affiliate marketing – apart from the time and effort it requires.

There are 3 key elements that Wealthy Affiliate offers – Awesome Education, Websites & Expert Help & Advice.  It is written for someone who isn’t experienced with an online business, and it is pitched well.  The community is there to help at all times and there are experts always on hand to help.

It is also somewhere that a struggling affiliate marketer who has been given bad advice or the wrong training could pick up where they have gone wrong and rectify it before it is too late…

Put simply, if you can add the Time and Effort to the Education, Websites & Expert Support they offer – you will benefit from Wealthy Affiliate

Kyle & Carson and I are very aware that there are many scams out there and you may still not be convinced that Wealthy Affiliate is right for you.  

That is why they offer the Starter Membership for free (no credit card required). 

By signing up for a FREE starter membership, you are making no commitments.  You can sign out of your account at any time if you find it is not right for you.  you haven’t lost anything because you haven’t paid anything, but you might have learned whether affiliate marketing is for you or not.

Take the time to go through all the different features and the FREE training included in the starter membership and then you can make an informed decision.  

If you feel like you are ready to sign up with the best training platform for Affiliate Marketing training, then al you need to do is follow the steps below:

Step 1: Create a Free Starter Membership at WealthyAffiliate.com (Click here to join)Free Starter Membership with Wealthy Affiliate

Step 2: Go through the Getting Started Training

Step 3: Get back to me when I personally reach out to you (and I will)

Step 4: Have fun!

Upon joining you will receive some instructions via email about how to get started, but remember you get full access to me (John) when you join the community.  If you ever need to ask me anything after you create your account, you can find me at my profile page.

Direct Access: My Wealthy Affiliate Profile (John – jcross93).

Finally, if there is anything you would like to ask me about Wealthy Affiliate, offer your own personal review of WA, or you have any questions/feedback about affiliate marketing please leave them below and I will be more than happy to help.  I promise to get back to you as soon as possible

Wealthy Affiliate

FREE
9.8

Training

9.8/10

Support

9.8/10

Website Builder

9.8/10

Research Tools

9.8/10

Overall Rating

9.8/10

Pros

  • Step-by-Step Training Designed with Beginners in Mind
  • Top Quality WordPress Web Hosting
  • Awesome Website Tools
  • Expert Help & Support on Hand at all times
  • Interaction with the Owners of the Company

Cons

  • Monthly Cost can Stack up for Newbies at first.

117 thoughts on “The Wealthy Affiliate University Review – My Own Experiences”

  1. Your review on Wealthy Affiliate is well written. Lots of information and images. I have been with Wealthy Affiliate a little over two years. I have never seen any other website builder that provides as much as WA and also the connection with the owners Kyle and Carson.

    I have never seen anyone put other members in their reviews. That is nice. All the best to you.
    Michelle

    • Hey Michelle,

      thanks for taking the time to read my review and share your point of view.  It is one of the key benefits of Wealthy Affiliate that Kyle & Carson are so involved in helping people.  Many other platforms do not give you any way of getting in touch with them and knowing they are real.  Kyle & Carson really show the ethics of helping people rather than selling to people.  No hollow messages, just honest help and support.

      Thanks again for your time

      John

  2. I didn’t know that Wealthy Affiliate can help people outside of the affiliate marketing space. I always say it as a course for beginners of affiliate marketing.

    Does it have anything to offer as far as helping with drop shipping? Since you mentioned that it helped your wife’s small business.

    • Hi Jessie,

      thanks for taking the time to check out my post – Wealthy Affiliate offers many different training modules on many different aspects of running an online business. It is by far the best resource for many different business types as they can all benefit from the tools, training and support to getting your business into the wide world.

      To your question about dropshipping, there is plenty of community built training that can support you with a drop shipping business, like:

      Dropshipping Training in WA

      Hope that helps

      John

  3. I just read the “best affiliate marketing tools” review on WA and I would have to say it is the best review I have ever read on a company period. It would make the owners proud. I’ve just been here a little over a month and have no regrets. Still no money but I think a little time and more work will take care of that. Are your financial experiences taking place as expected. I look forward to socializing with more members as time goes along. Thanks for the info.

    • Hey,

      thanks for taking the time to check out my review and leave your thoughts.  

      Thanks for your kind words, I spent a lot of time writing this and I truly believe every word.  Wealthy Affiliate is a great community of internet entrepreneurs all there to give each other help whenever it is required.  Not to mention all the awesome tools they provide to ensure we can run our businesses as they should.

      I would say my financial goals are getting there, like anything it does take time and effort and you will achieve your goals if you persevere.

      Thanks again for your comments

      John

  4. I’m on my second year of Wealthy Affiliate as well and it’s been a game changer in my life and others I’ve met on the platform. I’ve watched many become successful and have many successes my self. 

    One can’t go wrong with starting a Free account. It’s free, there’s nothing to lose.

    • Hey Greg,

      thanks for checking out my post and leaving a comment.

      There are many examples of successes and Wealthy Affiliate is great at helping people achieve small successes and huge successes (like leaving the day job behind).  I am glad you have found your own successes along the way.

      Whilst many providers try and sell you the idea with boasts of huge money sums being earned, my biggest reason for suggesting Wealthy Affiliate is purely down to their honesty, yes there are many other traits that are great about it (access to the owners, awesome training, step-by-step guides, a mentor to help along the way, to name a few) but they truly tell you that this will not work if you do not put the time and effort in.

      They will show you what you need to do, but if you do not follow their successful model then the chances of success are less.  Success comes from yourself – your time and effort.

      You will not find a platform that offers all of the great stuff WA has to offer, along with the great help and support – but you need to invest in the time and effort and realise this is a business you are building and any business needs time and effort.

      I call it Will & Skill – WA will give you the Skill and help motivate you to the Will side and help motivate you to the Will side, keep going and all of a sudden you are having small successes that turn into massive successes.

      Thanks again Greg

      John

  5. Very long and detail review. But that doesn’t mean your review is boring. Lots of image in this review make it interactive to read. You makes me want to join Wealthy Affiliate too. Almost non of the affiliate training platform provide this long and detailed review that tells everything what’s inside. With this review, I’m sure most beginner will most likely want to join Wealthy Affiliate because they’re confident enough that Wealthy Affiliate can helps them.

    • Hi Amer,

      thanks for checking out my review and leaving your thoughts.

      I know this review is long, but one of the key bits of advice I give to people buying online is make sure you do your research – well if I want to live by this I wanted to include as much detail about Wealthy Affiliate.  People can check out my review, see what it includes, what is it about the program that I like and then they can make up their own mind as to whether to try it with a free starter membership.

      One of the key learnings I have had from my time with Wealthy Affiliate is “Helping”.  We are here to help people, whether that is to help them find genuine opportunities to start an online business or avoiding scams masking themselves as Affiliate Marketing.

      I appreciate that you like my review, and people who are new to affiliate marketing or thinking about joining Wealthy Affiliate will find no better platform for their chance to earn a living working from home – but at least with decent reviews they know exactly what they are signing up for.

      Thanks

      John

  6. Hey John!

    I like that you’re being very honest in your review. You’re right it’s not for everyone, but it can or could be for everyone. I think the best about Wealthy Affiliate is you can turn your hobby into an income source, which is very hard otherwise. The most important lessons (in my opinion) we learn how to become independent without any form of education. Thank you for an awesome review!

    Stein

    • Hey Stein,

      thanks for checking out my review and leaving your comments!

      Using your hobby or something you are interested in makes it a lot easier to put your time and effort into your online business. Creating content about something you know and are interested in makes building an online business enjoyable too.

      Anyone who is willing to do it seriously and understand it takes time and effort will find Wealthy Affiliate very useful.

      Thanks again

      John

  7. This sounds like it is a very good platform. However, it is quite costly, I want to be totally sure I can make money out of it, so first I will try the free membership. Thanks for posting this, hopefully we see eachother on Wealthy Affiliate!

    One question though, you recommend a niche?

    • Hey Emmanuel,

      thanks for checking out my review and leaving your comments.

      I totally understand, why you want to check out a program before you hand over any money, that is why the starter membership doesn’t require your credit card details (unlike others where they charge you as soon as the trial finishes).  this isn’t a trial account and some starter members have build a successful online business too.

      In terms of recommending a niche, I would ask you what are you passionate about.  You will need to spend a lot of time researching the topic of your business – so choosing something you are interested in you will be the right choice for you.  There will be an affiliate program for any niche.

      It will be hard work if you pick something you know nothing about or aren’t really interested in. So I cannot recommend a niche, but WA will help you nourish a business based on something you are already interested in.

      Hope that helps, and good luck

      John

  8. I’ve been with Wealthy Affiliate since 2015 and coming across it was a game changer for me. I started working online in 2012 with my online baby store and I struggled to learn how to work my own website and how to get traffic to my website. Since joining Wealthy Affiliate I have come to find that there is a better way to make money online than having my own physical products, so I closed my store and changed it to a blog. My business has only gone from strength to strength since then. 

    I recommend anyone that is trying to make money online to stop chasing after the shiny objects (scams) and learn the right way to build an online business.

    • Hey Lynne,

      thanks for checking out my review and leaving your comments.

      I am so glad you found successes with Wealthy Affiliate, it is a program that can help anyone build a business including those who are selling their own products or those that are not.  We have used a lot of what WA teach towards our wedding stationary business. Using the techniques to market our wedding stationary better, as well as using affiliate marketing to earn additional revenue too.

      Wealthy Affiliate is a genuine and supportive route to building an online business, there are many products out there pretending to be Affiliate Marketing and making people become very wary of Affiliate Marketing.  I am glad that I found Wealthy Affiliate and looks like you have really benefitted too.

      Thanks

      John

  9. Great in-depth article.  I am a member of the Wealthy Affiliate University and when I joined the program I had no idea what affiliate marketing was.  Fast forward two years I now feel confident in setting up my own blog on WordPress, creating content that ranks organically and earning money through affiliate marketing.  It’s a program I definitely recommend to those wanting to start an online business.  Nice job on the review. 

    • Hi Celeste,

      thanks for checking out my review and leaving your comments.

      I am so glad you have found successes with Affiliate Marketing and Wealthy Affiliate. Wealthy Affiliate has everything you need to start a genuine affiliate marketing business. I appreciate your comments!

      Thanks

      John

  10. This I must say is one of the most comprehensive reviews on Wealthy Affiliate that I have seen or fully read. I have been with Wealthy Affiliate just shy of 3 months now I just finished the OEC and am part way through the Affiliate bootcamp myself. I am learning something new everyday and not just from the above mentioned training,the experience of the community is second to none.! I was not aware that we could use other profiles or community members in our reviews or articles, do you have to get their permission first?? Or no 

    You mentioned that you have been with them 2 years, out of curiosity how long by following the training did you start seeing any type of income? 

    • Hey Cathy.

      thanks for checking out my review and leaving some comments.

      The best thing about Wealthy Affiliate is they keep up with current events and always keep you up-to-date, so learning something new everyday even helps those that are experienced.

      Part of the community is sharing successes, and they can be small – like building your first website to your first sale and on, I shared them to show that following the WA training will lead to their successes, it is shared on WA for a reason, so yes I had permission.

      The thing to understand about timescales is everyone will reach their goals at different times.  Someone who can invest 8 hours a day may see success before a person who can only spend an hour a day.  But it all comes down to following the training and the advice given out at WA, I saw some income after 6 months. But one of my original primary goals was to improve traffic and conversions to my Wife’s wedding stationary business.  I am now in a position where I can pursue Affiliate Marketing as well, so will see how long it takes to earn a full-time income.

      Keep following the training, keep learning and ensure you put that knowledge (plus time and effort) into your online business and you will start seeing it work.

      thanks again

      John

  11. Thank you John for an excellent and very thorough review of the Wealthy Affiliate platform.

    I started researching Internet marketing back in 2004, when I first had a broadband connection to the Internet, I could immediately see the power of the Internet and the huge potential the Internet carried, prior to this I was using dial-up, the Internet just frustrated me, it was so painfully slow with dial-up!

    I learnt the hard way on how to make money online, back in 2004 I was desperate to learn about how to make money online, I purchased some terrible scam products, however, I did also purchase some genuine products that taught me how to make money online. However, it wasn’t until 2007 that I had my first moneymaking website, but at least I was making money despite the thousands of pounds I had spent on scam products!

    I joined the Wealthy Affiliate program four years ago, I was already making money online but I liked the idea of being on a platform with like-minded people who we could share ideas with and learn from each other. The Internet is something that moves on very quickly today, so it’s always good to keep up-to-date with the latest technology.

    As John mentions in his very thorough review of the Wealthy Affiliate platform that the platform offers hosting and many others features that are all included free in the monthly or annual fee. I only started taking advantage of the free hosting at Wealthy Affiliate approximately six months ago as I already had my own hosting package. I have to say that I’m absolutely delighted with the performance of the hosting, it actually works really well and I’m sure for the average Internet marketer starting out on there online journey that the hosting is perfectly adequate.

    The Wealthy Affiliate platform teaches you step-by-step on how to create an online business, there is absolutely nothing missed out and if there is something you don’t understand, just ask a question to the community and you will promptly have a reply. As I mentioned, I have been making money online since 2007, but I still love the idea of being part of a great Internet marketing community, I will probably be a lifetime member.

    I cannot recommend this program enough.

    Roy Bretton

    The Christian Internet Marketer

    • Hey Roy,

      thanks for checking out my review and leaving some fantastic comments.  I appreciate your time writing some great points about how Wealthy Affiliate not only benefits beginners but experience Internet Marketers like yourself.

      I agree, WA is something i love being a part of and can easily see myself helping others for years to come, regardless of the direction of my online business.

      thanks again

      John

  12. Wow John you have covered this in so much depth that I now have a deeper understanding of the processes involved. It was clear and an interesting read. What came through for me was the honesty and the completely transparent motive of WA. 

    To help people! There was no sales pitch, just a well written testimonial. 

    No other company of this magnitude could claim that the founders have personal contact with the members of their community and provide such a wonderful platform and all the training for such a small fee. 

    I love the pay it forward concept.

    • Hey Cass,

      thanks for checking out my review and leaving some comments. I appreciate your thoughts.

      One of the key things that helps you build an online business is focusing on helping others – with your blog, reviews, etc.  But many of their training platforms out there preach it, but do not do it.

      But Wealthy Affiliate is all about helping you, they started this platform years ago and could have easily started charging more each year when they added more features, but that goes against their ethos.  They help you to help others find genuine ways of earning an online income and scale that business.

      Having access to Kyle & Carson is also unheard of, but again it comes down to their mentality of helping people at every step of the way.

      Thanks again for checking it out

      John

  13. I would have to agree Wealthy Affiliate is an amazing marketing tool!I loved all the thought and detail you put into your post highlighting the benefits, what they could do better, what it’s all about. I would have to agree with you, you do have to have determination and put work into it. You can’t just expect results overnight, consistent work is key.

    • Hey Christina,

      thanks for checking out my review and leaving some comments.  There is no genuine system that can earn you money overnight – all you will find is it is a program full of false promise.

      Wealthy Affiliate really honest about the fact that you will need to put effort in to earn any money.  You will also find that it will take time – but the prospects are real.

      I will be updating the review shortly, but you can also earn money by engaging with other websites via their SiteComments tool as well.

      They are always looking at ways of helping its members reach their financial and non-financial goals.

      thanks again Christina

      John

  14. WOW! I’ve seen many reviews on Wealthy Affiliate but this is by far the most detailed and honest review I’ve read. Its so informative that even I have learned a few things and I’ve been with Wealthy Affiliate for a while!Great stuff! This will definitely help people to see the true value in joining Wealthy Affiliate. No other platform will give you 50% in commissions just for signing someone up which is so awesome of the program to do! It’s also good for entrepreneurs or anybody who owns their own business who just wants to learn more about monetizing their website, SEO, customer purchasing patterns etc! It can really help anybody who already owns an existing business for the fraction of the cost of what you’d pay at college to learn this stuff!Congrats! Gabbey

    • Hey Gabbey,

      thanks for checking out my review and leaving some comments.

      There is a lot of great value training and a key difference to other platforms is they constantly keep it up to date.  Everything is always changing online, so keeping it relevant is a hard job but they do it really well.

      Can you believe it is the same price as when it started all those years ago!  They want to help anyone succeed, whether it is a beginner looking to start out or a struggling website owner who wants to actually turn a profit.

      You will find awesome support at hand with Wealthy Affiliate

      thanks again

      John

  15. John,

    I have been with Wealthy Affiliate since June 2018. I have to say that I absolutely love the program! I have learned so much in the few months that I have been with it that it has more than paid for the premium cost. I cannot say enough good about Wealthy Affiliate. After having been scammed so many times, it was great to find a caring and thoughtful community with owners who are invested in seeing the people who use their site succeed! You have to work for your success, but for me, this is a lot of fun and I learned how to make money from my websites. I can’t say enough good about Wealthy Affiliate!

    • Hey Karin,

      thanks for checking out my review and leaving some comments and sharing your experiences. You are so right, it does take hard work to achieve it, but it definitely helps when you ask as many questions as you can and get the right answers straightaway. 

      It is such a supportive environment for anyone looking to start or grow an online business.

      thanks again

      John

  16. Hi John,

    I think that your review is one of the best reviews about Wealthy Affiliate I have seen.

    I rarely read reviews as they are not much more than promotional posts, but your post was full of real honest information that will truly help anyone who is looking for online solutions.

    I have been part of Wealthy Affiliate for about 6 months at the paid level and there are certain elements to Wealthy Affiliate that set them apart from other systems.

    Firstly their support system is amazing. They take minutes to get back to you, rather than the normal days waiting. Once they start talking, you can almost have a conversation by email with them they are so fat. So support is really excellent.

    The commenting system is fantastic and one of the biggest reasons I am part of WA.

    Comments are an essential signal to the search engines that people like the content. WA provides an amazing opportunity to not only give comments to support fellow members, but to also receive comments as a way of thanks. Comments show to new visitors on the site that the site is a credible place to be. This alone is worth the cost of the membership.

    The training, especially for a beginner is really excellent. I am a seasoned blogger so I know the ropes on WordPress, but I still discovered new tips along the way and made changes. For a beginner the training is world class.

    Keep up the great work, your post is excellent!

    Tim

    • Hey Tim,

      thanks for checking out my review and leaving some comments.  Appreciate your kind words about it.  I spent a lot of time thinking about it from an objective point of view. 

      You are so right about the comments platform – coupled with the feedback tool. These are great ways of getting engagement on a new website to help with rankings, etc.  It can be so hard to get natural comments at first. But this platform gets you high quality comments. It is also an important fact to point out that it becomes content on your post too.  A 1,000 word article can become quite easily 10,00o words when you start adding up the comments added too.

      I personal think the training can benefit anyone, as even you have said you learned something from it that you didn’t know before.

      We are not all experts at everything and it is also worthwhile going back and seeing if we have missed anything on our way to building an online business. 

      Thanks again for sharing your thoughts

      John

  17. After carefully reading your review of Wealthy Affiliate, I have to say I am impressed!  Usually, whenever I read about some affiliate comp